What's new

Windows beginner question

bcrew1375

I'm a newb at Windows programming, so I need to ask a question. How can I make one of those FPS counters that show up in the title bar of the window?

zenogais

Use the function SetWindowText, it has the format:

Code:
SetWindowText(HWND hWnd, LPCTSTR lpString)

Last edited:
OP
B

bcrew1375

How would I go about using a number variable in that? Would I need to convert the number to a string?

zenogais

Ah right, thats what you wanted to know. Well, since you're programming C you'd have to use sprintf in the form :

Code:
int fps;
char windowFpsString[_MAX_PATH];
sprintf(windowFpsString, "WindowName - FPS %d", fps);
SetWindowText(mainWindow, (LPCTSTR)windowFpsString);

As for the actual FPS calculations, I actually have a code snippet lying around here that you should be able to get the necessary data from. It uses SDL_GetTicks as a timer for the FPS count.

OP
B

bcrew1375

Great, thanks. I don't have time to implement it right now, but I'll let you know how it works out.

secretemu

Future Emu Creator Hopefully
hi im not new to c++ but i am new to emu programming :ala:
can any1 help me with loading a rom.this is how you load text (you obviously know because your a genious) :blush:
hFile = CreateFile(pszFileName, GENERIC_READ, FILE_SHARE_READ, NULL,
OPEN_EXISTING, 0, 0);
do i load it like this if so can you give me the commands for chip 8. :paperbag:
if not can you show me how its done :party:
ps is it possible to emulate in devc++ instead of c++.net :huh:

hap

It's good that you're beginning with chip8, to understand the basics of emulator programming, instead of something a lot more complicated. Start by reading the *whole* Chip8 thread on top of this subforum (it's a Sticky topic). You'll find what you need there. If you're getting stuck later on, ask further questions in that thread. And don't ask too soon; try to find it out yourself first, it's more fun that way.