What's new

Where should I begin from?

Tesla-Guy

Hey!

I doubt any of you still remember me, since i've left the emulation scene some 5 years ago.
Anyhow! As a new coder studying informatics and telecommunications and having learnt C quite well, i've decided to start on programming my first emulator.
This question is mainly addressed to the admirable coders of the emulation scene:
Where should I start from, considering i'd be developing for linux on C?
Where did you start from?
What libraries should I check out?
Where do I find them?

Thanks in advance!!

twiztidgamer

im no programmer but i can easily say that this forum is fully loaded with all the info you need just look around a little and the info will pop right out

but i would recommend you start small. dont try and jump right into the n64 or anything ya know?... i know theres a thread on here thats totally dedicated to gameboy emulation somewhere. but that might even be to big... if i find it ill let ya know

nmn

Mupen64Plus Dev.
Do you know how to program with SDL and OpenGL? If not, you may be interested in that. As Linux is your main platform, you should also learn how to do things the POSIX ways (Your applications will port to Windows with a little hassle, but Cygwin can help you with that.)

OpenGL and SDL are basically the 2 most common graphical libraries for going across platforms. On Linux you basically never directly program into X11/GLX (Well, most people these days don't unless they are deving a game engine or a library that abstracts it) so SDL and OpenGL fit well. SDL will handle anything including 2D graphics, but once you wish to get into 3D you can also use SDL to handle your OpenGL context.

If this is making little sense, I recommend you force yourself to traverse Wikipedia - You'll figure it out eventually if you try hard enough (I've been sucessful doing this myself though it was hard...)