What's new

outputting in a command prompt from a windows app

mesman00

What's that...?
this is what i want to do. i am writing a windows app (using MFC) and want to output messages to the command prompt using the iostream lib (cout). how do i go about doing this. since i have been using java for hte last six months i know in java you can just run the executable from the command prompt and the windows app will open, yet write messages to the command prompt when needed, but i tried this in c++ and it does not work. thus, how do i go about doing this. thanks.

smcd

You can make a "console app" in VC++ and then use windows functions to make a window appear, and still have the console window in the background? That's what I've done in the past, it works OK, though I used WinAPI instead of MFC.

Another possibility is to have 2 separate applications, and the MFC execute the other, redirecting the STDIN of the spawned process to a pipe & the spawned console application just output everything it receives in STDIN to STDOUT.

refraction

PCSX2 Coder
the way id say is what sethmcdoogle said. if you goto Project/Properties then click Linker followed by System, the top option should be SubSystem, if you set this to console it should make a command prompt window load with your program, then you can use cout commands to output to it :)

OP
mesman00

mesman00

What's that...?
refraction said:
the way id say is what sethmcdoogle said. if you goto Project/Properties then click Linker followed by System, the top option should be SubSystem, if you set this to console it should make a command prompt window load with your program, then you can use cout commands to output to it :)

where is this setting. if i go to project project file menu there is no properties option, only settings. so if i open setting and go to link there is no system option. if i right click on the project and click properties there is no linker option. are you using msvc++ 6.0?

refraction

PCSX2 Coder