What's new

Need help installing a PCMCIA under linux

pj64er

PJ64 Lubba
First things first. I'm new to linux, and I'm new to this PCMCIA devices business, so please go easy on me.

Alright, right now, I have a laptop with RedHat 7.3 installed on it. I chose all the network/internet related and laptop support during installation. What I wanted to do was have this laptop in a LAN with my PC (see computer specs at bottom). Before I go configuring all em samba and other fun things, I have to install my ethernet card such that linux recognise it. It does know that theres something plugged in, and it knows what it is (I see this under the information section in the control center in KDE), but I dont know what to do to get it to use it for networking.

I'm not sure what would be helpful to tell you guys, but the said PCMCIA thing is a D-Link DMF-560TXD (its both a 56k modem and eithernet card), the laptop is a rather old Toshiba Satellite, and again, its Red Hat 7.3.

Malcolm

Not a Moderator
okie dokerie

first off go to:
/lib/modules/*kernel*/pcmcia

if you can get to this directory that means you have the pcmcia kernel modules (good thing)

now:
Code:
modprobe pcmcia_core
modprobe i82365
modprobe ds
modprobe pcnet_cs

thats the best I can do with the limited knowledge I have of the redhat 7 series.

Good luck :)

Last edited:
OP
pj64er

pj64er

PJ64 Lubba
I got a "no such device" error when I enter the modprobe i82365 line.

also, what should I be seeing if everything went right? Does it become my eth0 right after I enter those lines?

Malcolm

Not a Moderator
If all went well your system would just reconize it as an eth# device and start using it, but I donno now.

instead of i82365 try yenta_socket, only thing i can think of.

OP
pj64er

pj64er

PJ64 Lubba
Alright, it works now, it sees it as the eth0 device now. Thanks malcolm.

Unfortunately, now the problem is that the whole computer freezes whenever I try to connect to anything using it..

OP
pj64er

pj64er