What's new

How to "Shut Off" at night?

Danny

Programmer | Moderator
So a slightly misleading topic title :p

No I am not asking how to code an application to turn off your computer at a set time at night :)

As a programmer, I code all day then when the time comes I go to bed. The problem is I just cannot shut off my brain. I always think about algorithms and bugs when I hit the hay, and rarely sleep as a result.

It's not always a bad thing as I usually get up the next day using what I thought about while trying to sleep and fix any bugs i have, however, it is deeply frustrating.

How do you guys switch your brain off at night, and leave programming until you awake?

This is a serious thread, this has affected me for years.

ScottJC

At your service, dood!
Years ago when programming was a bigger thing for me than it is now, I admit to having a similar problem, I often would not 'shut off' and in fact still actively think of solutions to problems while I was sleeping, Things that I would never think of while awake would come to me, as long as I was able to remember it when I was awake!

My advice would be not to try to separate awake and sleep, you'd be surprised how productive you can be while you're sleeping.

It might be a good idea to stop programming a few hours before you go to sleep by distracting yourself with something else to do though.

Last edited:

zilmar

Emulator Developer
do something non work related/brain thinking .. watch a show works at a lot of time, do house work. Tho It has not been as much of a problem for me as my mind/body seems to shut down on my at nights .. does not stop me getting up at odd times when it has had some sleep like 1:30 am at the moment

Cyberman

I read watch Anime simulate circuits etc. The majority of what I do at work is programming so anything that's not programming is fine. I also play games. (shocking I know). I do programming type stuff on non work days.

Cyb

OP
Danny

Danny

Programmer | Moderator