What's new

fed up with mfc

mesman00

What's that...?
ok i keep posting simple problems here, so i probably sound liek a total noob. but i don't care. i have created a menu using msvc++ resource creator tool. here the actual code generated by msvc++

Code:
#define APSTUDIO_READONLY_SYMBOLS
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
//
// Generated from the TEXTINCLUDE 2 resource.
//
#include "afxres.h"

#undef APSTUDIO_READONLY_SYMBOLS

// English (U.S.) resources

#if !defined(AFX_RESOURCE_DLL) || defined(AFX_TARG_ENU)
#ifdef _WIN32
LANGUAGE LANG_ENGLISH, SUBLANG_ENGLISH_US
#pragma code_page(1252)
#endif //_WIN32

#ifdef APSTUDIO_INVOKED
//
// TEXTINCLUDE
//

1 TEXTINCLUDE DISCARDABLE 
BEGIN
    "resource.h\0"
END

2 TEXTINCLUDE DISCARDABLE 
BEGIN
    "#include ""afxres.h""\r\n"
    "\0"
END

3 TEXTINCLUDE DISCARDABLE 
BEGIN
    "\r\n"
    "\0"
END

#endif    // APSTUDIO_INVOKED

//
// Menu
//

IDR_MENU1 MENU 
BEGIN
    POPUP "&File"
    BEGIN
        MENUITEM "E&xit",                       IDM_FileExit
    END
END

#endif    // English (U.S.) resources

#ifndef APSTUDIO_INVOKED
//
// Generated from the TEXTINCLUDE 3 resource.
//

#endif    // not APSTUDIO_INVOKED

notice the menu specific code under heading IDR_MENU1. so, when i create the window i use the following method.

Code:
Create(NULL, "DICOM SR Viewer", WS_OVERLAPPEDWINDOW, CRect(0, 0, 800, 600), NULL, "IDR_MENU1");

this should work, and i see no reason why it doesn't, but i get an assertion error right when the program loads. and the assertion is definately caused when i try to add the menu to the create method. if i don't add the menu the program executes fine. otherwise i don't even get to see the window. here is a pic of the error:

Last edited:

zenogais

You need to use the MAKEINTRESOURCE() macro for the menu, here's my window code for NeoPSX:

Code:
NeoMain::NeoMain()
: m_strVersion("NeoPSX 2.0.0")
{
	//===================================================