What's new

Beginning Programming

xamenus

Sorry if this is a little vague, but I'm curious what would be your advice to a complete beginner at programming (like what language to use, what programs to make etc.)? At a glance programming looks a bit intimidating but hopefully that goes away. :blush: Thanks for any reply. :)

GbaGuy

IceFox said:
Sorry if this is a little vague, but I'm curious what would be your advice to a complete beginner at programming (like what language to use, what programs to make etc.)? At a glance programming looks a bit intimidating but hopefully that goes away. :blush: Thanks for any reply. :)

There are a few things:
The hardest (but the best payoff IMO) would be to get a good book on
C++ and start writting some console (DOS style) programs.
http://www.cplusplus.com/ has a well-recommended tutorial if you prefer
online stuff.

Or try Java, http://java.sun.com/ .

I personally started with BASIC, but I would NOT recommend that, it just
won't give you the knowledge you'll need to move on to bigger and better
things...

Hope that helps,
- GbaGuy

BGNG

I do a lot of work as a 3D game developer, and I use Visual Basic. GbaGuy, if this doesn't count as "big and better" then what does?

And IceFox, a really good way to get into the concept of programming is to do some web scripting in JavaScript. There are zillions of tutorials out there that can get you into that. Afterwards, you'll easilly be able to move on to something more corporate and... you know... compilable.

zenogais

BGNG said:
I do a lot of work as a 3D game developer, and I use Visual Basic. GbaGuy, if this doesn't count as "big and better" then what does?