What's new

Help me pick a new computer..

Remote

Since my old pc is getting old I really need to upgrade. I'm gonna keep my current gfx card and aiming at new mobo + cpu + ram.

I want a AMD based mobo with onboard sound / nic / no raid. Make isn't that important but should I aim at, Nforce?

I don't play so it's basicly a surf the web / watch movie computer. So, what mobo, what brand of ram do I want?

=)

khanmeister

Banned
I've been happy with the ASUS motherboards. Thier config isn't always what you'd expect though. Other than that I've got extensive experience in generic parts, with varying results. If it's just for movies/web, then don't bother with the latest greatest wizzbang, just get one of the cheap 2000 family athlons. That'll help you pick the mobo, too. Powerful, but no overkill, since you aren't rendering arm hair on every frame with AA tweaked to the roof.

Stezo2k

S-2K
Remote said:
Since my old pc is getting old I really need to upgrade. I'm gonna keep my current gfx card and aiming at new mobo + cpu + ram.

I want a AMD based mobo with onboard sound / nic / no raid. Make isn't that important but should I aim at, Nforce?

I don't play so it's basicly a surf the web / watch movie computer. So, what mobo, what brand of ram do I want?

=)

I'd seriously wait for an upgrade, with the new technologies around the corner, namely PCI eXpress and DDR2 Memory.

It is also a good idea to wait for the AMD-64 Based processors to go down in price, this will make your system more future proof and faster if you want to game etc in the future.

But it's up to you really, if you want to stay 32-bit i'd highly recomend the Athlon XP Barton 2500+, you can clock it to 3200+ at 400FSB (200 x2) with bearly any heat gain, all you need is a decent cooler. I have also heard very good things about overclocking the Mobile Athlon XPs.